It’s June. I am officially 21 days from a surgery that is going to change my life. And by that I mean, a surgery that is going to save my life – I mean who wants to risk living on borrowed time? Proactive measures are a must, and here I go.

Screen Shot of Appointment Date

I have just received a call from my Surgeon’s office for my pre-op appointment, which has been scheduled for Friday, June 23. I guess I won’t be going to work that day. I was told that I would be talking to an Ostomy Nurse, a Nutritionist, a Pharmacist, and an Anesthesiologist. I expect I will also speak with my Surgeon, but you never know.

A few weeks ago I liberated my emotions in “When It Rains, It Pours.” It was a candid post where I couldn’t be more transparent about my experience, even if I tried. It was a derailed train of emotion and panic, if you haven’t read it, I encourage you to. I felt lost, confused, and alone. Everything seemed to hit me at once and I couldn’t make sense of it.

It’s funny how things can change so quickly in only a matter of weeks. People seemingly come from out of nowhere and it’s difficult to explain that feeling when you hear them say: “I have your back, and you have your future.”

I am ready.

image of walking towards my shadow
“Never fear shadows. They simply mean there’s light shining somewhere nearby” – Ruth E. Renkel
Leave a Reply

